I Saw Lucifer’s Fall From Grace

A survey finds that atheists and agnostics are generally more knowledgeable about religion than their adherents. This isn’t all that surprising as the article notes, “American atheists and agnostics tend to be people who grew up in a religious tradition and consciously gave it up, often after a great deal of reflection and study.” This is definitely the case where I am concerned; I grew up a Catholic and went to Catholic school for most of my elementary education and eventually rejected the Church and, subsequently, Christianity more or less as a whole. I hold the belief that there’s nothing wrong with God, Himself, but it’s his believers that I have problems with.

The survey tells me more than anything that religious leaders have failed, miserably, in teaching the faith. Worse yet, and perhaps a symptom of this, is that much of the clergy and pastorship and Christian congregation tend to not follow what they preach. One simply has to look at the Christian Right in the US to see the long list of counterintuitive positions based on religiously uneducated conceptions of ethics and morality; that’s before the long strings of hypocrisy: preach, don’t practice.

I’m one of those many atheist/agnostics who took a long, hard look at the reality on the ground and what we were being told by priests, preachers and fellow Christians and turned our backs to the lies and self-righteousness. I do agree with Miss Banshee when she tweeted “I find, as an agnostic, I am grilled about religion far more often than ‘believers.’ We HAVE to know more lest we look foolish” but I think it’s more than that.

Alan Cooperman, associate director for research at the Pew Forum: “These are people who thought a lot about religion. They’re not indifferent. They care about it."

dore345 The origin of our cognitive species is what interests me more. My fall is not unlike Lucifers, which gives me pause; I tried to shine brightly as a Christian and Catholic but fell from grace when God’s minions challenged me and the things I designed to do. I did not fit into the cookie-cutter role I was destined to fall into. I questioned everything with an earnest interest in understanding why some things didn’t make sense and why history shows Christianity as a monster as well as a thing of beauty. I did not choose to usurp God’s place in the Heaven, the world or even my own heart. Instead I’m left questioning if Lucifer ever did try to supplant God and was, instead, so full of God’s Grace and desired to know God so strongly that the rest of the angels ripped his wings from him in a self-righteous rage.

None dare question the pious.

Leave a Reply

