First Amazon Purchase

Megan McArdleWill Wilkinson and Niklas Blanchard have participated in what would be a fun little meme that “implores us to check out our first order ever placed on Amazon.com.”

The inspiration for such comes from the fact that early 20th century memoirs often contain very detailed accounts of people getting new technology that drastically changes their lives; like the automobile, the water-closet, and the refrigerator.

I can definitely say my first computer (other than the Commodore 64 I was given) was my first big, important and life-changing purchase. I got it when I was a freshman at Middlebury College and most of how my life turned out centers around it.

I quickly learned a lot about computing from hacking, photo editing, web design, and how to be a pompous ass in chat rooms (which definitely comes in handy in political forums). Being much of a loner most of my life, the access to a small social community in the late 90s led to a computer/Internet addiction which then led to my disillusion with school and, consequently, my dropping out of school. It also, tied to my disillusionment and dropping out, led me to further bad decisions: finding me in North Dakota for a naive rendezvous with devious, unrequited love; back to New York; and then the realization of how stupid I had been acting. So, to satisfy my guilt, I went back to that same computer and, after a year of wasting precious time when I could have gone back to college, I met the woman who ended up becoming my wife and life partner. She courted me as I used this same computer and this courtship led to me being pulled away from New York (and the lovely pizza) to small town in Indiana.

That computer was also my first personal purchase with my own money. I don’t need Amazon to tell me that.

Leave a Reply

